Electrical Engineer to Software Engineer

Nivaaz | Founder sukara.tech
7 min readAug 11, 2019
Banner made in Canva

The last startup I worked for, didn’t pay me, and the “CTO ran away with the code”, so it had dissolved. But their investors and platform seemed promising. I wasn’t going to get paid but it sounded like they were going to do well, so I said yes (for the hope of equity).

I always wish I knew how to code, and I tried to learn HTML while in high school, so I could completely customize my Tumblr profile. But it ended up looking like black lines with white pages — so it didn’t work out so well. But my unexpected journey from initially dreaming of becoming a quantum engineer to instead, landing a job as a software engineer was an unexpected one.

University

So if you studied electrical engineering, you know a little bit about code.

In my first year of electrical engineering, I learned Verilog in a digital systems course where we learned to program FPGAs.Then I took data structures and algorithms, which was a tough course. Still, I learned a lot about programming, and I’m pretty good at recursive algorithms.

But the university was never rainbows and unicorns for me, I struggled a lot and failed a ridiculously number of courses. And the worst bit was that my bad marks meant I was turned away in the initial stages of job…

--

--

Nivaaz | Founder sukara.tech

Growth engineer. Let’s talk about why failing is fantastic. | prev at canva eucalyptus.vc immutable